Court Reporters

Court Reporting Services

A court reporter is the silent person in the courtroom who is responsible for making a full stenographic report of the evidence and all other proceedings presented in the trial court.

The primary function of a court reporter is to make a verbatim record of all testimony in a court proceeding and, upon request, produce a written transcript of the proceeding. The reporter must be an excellent grammarian and speller, and must be adept at vocabulary, particularly legal, medical, and technical terminology.

Qualifications for Official Court Reporters in the State of Illinois include: (1) the reporter must be a resident of the State of Illinois; (2) the reporter must possess a Certified Shorthand Reporters Certificate issued by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations; and (3) the reporter must pass a proficiency examination administered by the Illinois Department of Financial and Professional Regulations.

Official Court Reporters are employed by the State of Illinois, and their salaries are established by Court Reporting Services for the Illinois Courts.

Currently there are 603 authorized Official Court Reporter positions in the State; 255 are assigned to Cook County and the remaining 348 are assigned to the downstate circuits. The allocation of Court Reporters to each circuit is determined by the Court Reporting Services for the Illinois Courts. The Sixth Judicial Circuit is authorized to employ 23 reporters.

Champaign County

Melissa Clagg, Supervisor
Tammy Cobb
Kari Connolly
Ketra McIntosh
Joni Markel
Lesa Rex
Alan Richey
Judi Roberts
Nancy Sivertson
Laurie Clancy

Mailing Address:
Court Reporting Services
Melissa Clagg, Supervisor
Champaign County Courthouse
101 E. Main St.
Urbana, IL 61801

DeWitt County

Tammy Greenfield

Mailing Address:
DeWitt County Courthouse
201 W. Washington
Clinton, IL 61727

Douglas County

Nellie Gilpon

Mailing Address:
Douglas County Courthouse
Judge Richard L. Broch's Office
401 S. Center
Tuscola, IL 61953

Macon County

Joyce Galla, Supervisor
Dana Byers
Michelle Nihiser
Julia Jewell
Gina Jones
Christina Lynch
Lisa Peabody
Wendy Rauch
Jeannie Sheumaker

Mailing Address:
Court Reporting Services
Joyce Galla, Supervisor
Macon County Court Facility
253 East Wood, Fifth Floor
Decatur, IL 62523

Moultrie County

Courtnay Orman
Beth Rollins

Mailing Address:
Moultrie County Courthouse
10 South Main Street, Suite 12
Sullivan, IL 61951

Piatt County

Jamie Mumm

Mailing Address:
Piatt County Courthouse
101 West Washington Street
P.O. Box 558
Monticello, IL 61856