Structure of the Sixth Judicial Circuit

The Sixth Judicial Court is composed of the following six counties: Champaign, DeWitt, Douglas, Macon, Moultrie and Piatt. Although the Sixth Judicial Circuit is a unified circuit, all six counties of the circuit have separate courthouses and court is held in each county.

There are fourteen Circuit Judges and eleven Associate Judges. Each of the judges of the Sixth Circuit may hear cases in each of the counties and are assigned by order of the Chief Judge.

The Chief Judge of the Sixth Judicial Circuit is elected by the circuit judges. The Chief Judge has general administrative authority over the courts in the Sixth Circuit and assigns judges within the circuit. The administrative staff of the Chief Judge is made up of an administrative assistant.